Philadelphia Phillies Scarlet #23 Aaron Altherr Flex Base Jersey 2020 Spring Training

KANSAS CITY — Since 1968, the year before Kansas Citys expansion American League club started perform, theres been a Royals Caravan travelling through the Midwest. This year will be no different.

The 2014 Royals Caravan will traveling on Wednesday and Thurs, with three simultaneous visits that will include stops inside Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas in addition to Nebraska. Involved will be current and former players, broadcasters, representatives and mascot Sluggerrr.

That also serves as a lead-in to the Royals FanFest on Friday as well as Saturday at Bartle Hall within downtown Kansas City.

Royals players scheduled to appear at various stops include designated hitter Billy Retainer, outfielders Alex Gordon and Lorenzo Cain, infielder Johnny Giavotella and pitchers Aaron Crow, Jeremy Guthrie, Donnie Paul and Everett Teaford. Also on board tend to be manager Ned Yost and Royals alums Dennis Leonard, Rob Montgomery and Brian McRae.

Added to the mix are broadcasters Joel Goldberg, Rex Hudler, Thomas Lefebvre, Steve Physioc and Steve Stewart.

Tour ceases on Wednesday include Cameron, Saint. Joseph, Clinton, Springfield and Joplin, Mo.; Overland Park, Olathe, Emporia, Topeka and Lawrence, Kan. The stops upon Thursday include Lincoln, Blase and Omaha, Neb.; Fayetteville, Ark., and Coffeyville and Wichita, Kan.

For details on the appearances, check out

Again on this years Caravan, the Royals will collect items pertaining to members of the military, with the USO chapters of Ft. Riley and also Missouri. Items wanted tend to be washcloths, individually wrapped toothbrushes, beef jerky, drink packets and pudding cups to be distributed to the military overseas and returning from duty. Followers can also bring hand-written thank you cards for troops; for each card, Queens Charities will donate $1 on the USO up to $10,000.

On Feb. 4, the Royals will make the Salute to the Military trip to Manhattan and also Ft. Riley, Kan., with Royals Corridor of Fame members George Brett, John Mayberry and Denny Matthews. Details will probably be announced later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *